A Little Reminder

I think everyone needs a wee reminder that things aren’t as bad as they seem and that things happen for a reason. Take myself for example; I have been on one crutch again for a few months and I’ve struggled to deal with it.

But then I recently had a hospital procedure which left me unable to lift my leg or weightbare. It was terrible! But it certainly made me realise my current situation is more manageable than after procedure. Sometimes I think we need an eye opener. A wee sign to remind us that things aren’t as bad as we think.

It made me think about my current situation. I feel that my pain is more manageable now that I’m taking tramadol and I do feel like I’ve got a more positive mindset, as I know that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. (surgery) I’m aware that I can’t make any big changes to my life until I get my results 4th June but I don’t have that long to wait. Although, I’m not totally naive – I’m aware that there’s at least a 6 month waiting list for Hip Replacements where I live, so nothing can happen overnight. I had a long hard think about how I’d like things to pan out and decided to put some things in motion.

I recently spoke to my manager as she has always been supportive regarding my health problems. I’ve always said to her that I planned to increase my hours when I could. I’ve recently been working over-time after my initial shift and it is manageable. So I finally made the decision to change my hours: I now work 10am until 7pm, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

A lot of my colleagues don’t understand this decision, as we are a part time team. I mean the extra money would be nice but that’s not why I want to do it. Honestly whenever I’ve finished work at 4pm, I felt that it was far too soon. I also felt that working longer days would give me a feeling of normality. It means that I can see that I’m one step closer to being where I want to be. Don’t get me wrong I have next to no energy by the time I get home from work; it is a case of dinner and an early night, which I’m happy with.

Now I need to try and manage / do something on my days off, as that’s a whole different matter entirely. Saturday is usually spent resting and I like to chill, read books or watch a box set. But sadly this ‘relax’ day drags in to the rest of my days off, as I have nothing else to do. But I’m not willing to waste any more days doing next to nothing. So I’ve decided to make a plan.

Sunday’s are usually spent with family whether we go to my boyfriend’s parents house for dinner or we go to mine. If that’s not organised I would like to walk round my local park (weather permitted) and/or use the treadmill at the gym. Monday mornings I would like to attend an aqua aerobics class, if and when I feel fit enough. I will most likely go and do weekly food shop too.

I plan to leave Tuesday’s for any appointments that I may have and again if I’m fit enough I could try zumba again in the evening. I do love Zumba and managed to attend for a couple of weeks before right hip pain started. I’m just worried that I go and over do it which could then affect the rest of my week. If I decide against Zumba; I can still go for a swim and do my hydrotherapy exercises in the pool.

I suppose I just need to find a happy medium. Filling up my days with activities that will get me out of the house for a few hours. Granted I do plan to go to the cinema with my boyfriend and go clothes / beauty shopping when required. I will keep you posted with my new plan and if I am able to maintain it. But seriously guys, I hope that this post will remind you that things aren’t always as bad as they seem and if you’re unhappy with your current situation, change it where possible.

Until next time.

Leave a comment